Nestled in the Marche landscape between the valleys of Musone and Potenza, this town owes its configuration to merchant entrepreneurship during the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries. The famous poet, Giacomo Leopardi, was born here on 29 June 1798. Palazzo Leopardi, the house where he was born, has been transformed into a museum.


To learn more click on the pictures

The Church of Santa Maria di Castelnuovo (12th century).
It has a portal with a Byzantine style lunette, signed and dated 1253, depicting the Madonna Enthroned and 15th century frescos.

The Montefiore Castle
Dating to the late Middle Ages. It has a polygonal plan with a high tower with merlons.

The Church and cloister of Sant'Agostino (13th century)
Remade one century later together with the cathedral. It has a portal in Istrian stone by Giuliano da Maiano. The interior was remade in the 18th century under design by Ferdinando Galli da Bibbiena.


The Church of St. Vitus
Built over a pre-existing Romanesque-Byzantine edifice, it was given the current appearance in the mid-17th century, only the apse and the bell tower remaining of the former structure. The façade was remade after an earthquake in 1741 according to a design by Luigi Vanvitelli.

The Church of San Domenico (15th century)
With a 1481 portal by Giuliano da Maiano. It houses the Glory of St. Vincent Ferrer by Lorenzo Lotto.

The Church of San Pietrino (14th century)
With a 18th century façade attributed to Vanvitelli.

The Church of Madonna delle Grazie (1465)

The Palazzo Venieri
Designed by Giuliano da Maiano.

The Palazzo Mazzagalli
Designed by Giuliano da Maiano or Luciano Laurana.

The Town Museum of Villa Colloredo Mels
Housing Lorenzo Lotto's Recanati Polyptych.

Neolithic necropolises of Fontenoce and Cava Kock (4th millennium BC).